Baitcaster
Posted: 28 February 2012 09:02 PM   [ Ignore ]
Shad
Rank
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2011-03-18

I am thinking about buying another baitcaster. This time I was thinking of going with Abu Garcia Black Maxx. One of the reasons is because it isn’t that much money, and I’ve actually heard good things about it. Any Suggestions? And also I am fairly new to baitcasting, and I dont really understand the gear ratios, and what they mean or are used for. Anyone that knows more then me (which is many) could you please fill me in on this?

Posted: 29 February 2012 01:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5487
Joined  2007-03-04

I dont have any experience with the Black Maxx, but I can help you with gear ratios.
These numbers refer to differences in gear size. A good way to look at it is the lower the first number, the slower the reel will pull in line.
Your most common sizes are 5,6, and 7. These are often compared to a ratio of 1. So they are advertised as 5.1:1 or 6.6:1 or 7.1:1…..ect
Ill use a 6.6:1 as an example. The 6.6 tells me how many times the spool revolves for 1 complete crank of the handle.
5’s are slow
6’s are mid-speed
7’s are burners

Signature 

Posted: 20 March 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Bass Master
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  479
Joined  2012-01-17

The black Maxx is a good reel to start out with.  You will have less backlashes, it’s cheap enough that if baitcasters don’t work out for you, you can just throw it in the drink.  LOL   Twitch explained the gear ratios so to start out I would settle for a reel with a ratio in the 5’s which is slower.  I find it’s easier to reel faster then to reel slower when you need to slow down.  Hope that helps.

Signature 

“May you catch all the fish you’ve told me about.”

Posted: 20 March 2012 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Bass Master
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  420
Joined  2012-01-14
shadmaster - 28 February 2012 09:02 PM